Thee Elusive Dream

So many of our dreams at first seem impossible, then they seem improbable, and then, when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable.” ~Christopher Reeve

dream

When someone uses the word dream it often feels like an elusive object, perhaps a place or thing that is unreachable. I prefer to think of a dream as a seed– when planted in the soul, watered by trial and error and fertilized by devotion, [it] will sprout into an obtainable goal. Life is too short to live in the realm of dreams, only to forgo your ability to reach them in death. The word goal in my mind’s eye is to see a large target and as you aim, life is thee arrow with which you make your mark.

I never could imagine I would be where I am at this moment. Yes, I believe thee elusive dream had clouded my ability to see my goals, my target becoming a distant spot on the horizon of my life. I sat entombed by my depression, no way to see through the cloud that had become my reality. Self-talk full of negativity and doubt; weeds filled my soul, choking the fragile seedling planted there. I was of the belief, “Dream big or go home” leaving no room for trial and error or small victories.

“Like success, failure is many things to many people. With positive mental attitude, failure is a learning experience, a rung on the ladder, and a plateau at which to get your thoughts in order to prepare to try again.” ~W. Clement Stone

When one hits rock bottom it is rarely a feeling that we share. There are no jovial sounds or triumphant claps to deem this moment a success. If I could describe the feeling in one word it would be defeat. If you consider war, thee enemy overtakes you, then defeat and finally becoming a prisoner. Prison for me was my mind and my body the cell. If there was an escape my own body hid it from me! Often it was as though my body were a double agent suddenly choosing sides, sabotage at times a daily occurrence. It is terrible, this belief that even your own body is against you.

Years later I emerged triumphant after lengthy battles. My mind and body at times still like to quip, but my goals have strength in the deep roots of my soul. I have long since matured out of the phase of dreams. Now, does this mean I don’t dream? Certainly I dream! However, one must know that difference between only dreaming or making dreams into goals and goals into realities. Living a life where you never obtain that elusive dream, well… I don’t want to live there! 

“All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.” ~T.E. Lawrence

Also see: Dare To Risk It

 

Word Prompt:Thee Elusive Dream

 

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Thee Elusive Dream

  1. Heather

    So true! I’ve been walking a similar path and can completely relate. Well said.❤

  2. Wonderful quotes, great message! Good luck with your blogging journey!

  3. what one man sees as a failure, happens to be another’s dream.
    Well written and supported with the quotes…. “Just like I dreamt about! “

  4. Pingback: “The Salty Breeze Of The Unknown” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Pingback: Dare To Risk It | Southern By Design

  6. Wow! Your writing left me breathless!!!

    What an insightful, and inspiring post! You are a weaver or words, you turn them into such a powerful message.

    Thanks so much for sharing🙂

  7. Pingback: Infinite Possibilities | Southern By Design

  8. Pingback: Life’s Outside Lines | Southern By Design

Leave a Reply

