Dear Younger Me

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

wind1

Having recently had another birthday and seeing 40 close at hand, I am feeling old. My daughter has, however, informed me, “You are not old until you are 60!” Well, tell that to my forgetful mind and my aching back! I never could understand when my parents would tell me as a child, life goes faster the older you get. I’d wonder at this saying, but now I understand. And with this passing of time comes change.

“We can’t be afraid of change. You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but if you never venture out of it, you will never know that there is such a thing as an ocean, a sea. Holding onto something that is good for you now, may be the very reason why you don’t have something better.” ― C. JoyBell C.

I often contemplate what older me would tell younger me. There have been mistakes and disappointments, but I don’t think I would change many of them. I believe those choices and experiences have brought me here and made me who I am. Yes, I think if I could write a letter to younger me I’d say, “Dear Younger Me~ Don’t fear change, waste time being scared of it or mourn it! Change is not what you think, so embrace it!”

I have never really liked change. So much so that as a young person, it would throw me into quite the bad mood (or worse) when something did change. I’m talking small scale, like changing an appointment time or such. I don’t know why I was so opposed to change. Perhaps it is the loss of control, for which I am not fond of. But as I have “grown up” and matured, I finally feel as though I have learned to go with the flow, well a bit more at least. I am sad to think that I probably wasted a lot of time in anxiety over change that was really for the better or simply out of my control! So my goal is this- to look back in another twenty years and see in younger me where I allowed the winds to carry me, instead of fighting against the change.

winds of change

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/wind/”>Wind</a&gt;

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

5 responses to “Dear Younger Me

  1. I never liked change, too. I guess the human being has the tendency to prefer stability and constant. However, change is inevitable in our unpredictable life. We must learn to accept and love it.
    I loved your post! Especially your quote, “I allowed the winds to carry me, instead of fighting against the change.”

  2. It did take me a while to understand change is necessary. But luckily I did it sooner than later, and definitely am better because of it.

    “Adapt immediately” is a good thing to go by.

    Thanks for stopping by TheEvolutionaryMind.com
    Hope to hear from you again!

  3. The daily post always brings me to your work! You make use of it so well. 😃 I am glad that I came across it again!

Leave a Reply

