Profound Rantings (Of A Sleep Deprived Mom)

Everyone should have kids. They are the greatest joy in the world. But they are also terrorists. You’ll realize this as soon as they are born and they start using sleep deprivation to torture you.” -Ray Ramano 

futureChildren are a blessing, I know this to be true because I have two. But, I’m going to be honest, there are those days, weeks…okay months, where I just don’t want to be around them. Now, I’m being real here, I didn’t say I don’t love them or like them– I’m just saying, there are times when I just don’t want this parenthood gig! 

As of this year I am officially the mom to two teenagers. Now, I thought that the toddler years were rough *hand to forehead* I was wrong! Or perhaps it’s just that I am older and my level of patience is not what it once was. And by the way, what is with that? Isn’t patience and tolerance suppose to get better as you live longer? I don’t know, maybe it’s just me! I don’t have patience for kids in general these days. I hear kids out in the neighborhood screaming and I am already planning on which retirement community I want to move to!

kids-have-so-much-energy-because-they-siphon-it-out-of-their-parents-like-midget-gasoline-thieves-funny-quote

I am constantly laying awake in bed at night wondering if I am doing all the right things as a parent. I have little adults that will soon be leaving (one can dream) to go into the real world. Have I done all that I can do to make them productive, hard working parts of society? Is there anything more that I can do or teach them that will be a tool for success? Do they realize I love and believe in them? Oh dear Lord, when did I become my mother? 

“What a kid I got, I told him about the birds and the bees and he told me about the butcher and my wife.” ― Rodney Dangerfield

th-17

Isn’t it great how when you were a kid, you thought you knew it all, and then you end up as a parent with that spitting image of yourself? Oh yes, teenagers know it all, just ask mine and he will tell you! My poor parents, I now realize what I put them through. Is it some kind of unspoken rule that you will surely have a child that imitates how you were as a kid? I imagine that if anything, it is your payment for being a jerk as a teenager! Recently both of my kids told me that they don’t want to have kids (like they even know). I told them that I was sad if that was true because I want to be a Meme. But I was thinking, “Lord, please let them have kids so that they can feel the revenge of being a parent!” 

“Having children is like living in a frat house – nobody sleeps, everything’s broken, and there’s a lot of throwing up.” -Ray Ramano

getevenlivelongLOGO

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/249091/”>Profound</a&gt;

13 Comments

Filed under Family, Life Lessons

13 responses to “Profound Rantings (Of A Sleep Deprived Mom)

  1. Sue

    Loved it & your honesty. I think more parents, women especially who put so much pressure on themselves to be perfect, ought to feel free to express just how hard it is at times. You know, be more real about it. I am not a parent, but I’m with children all day & while it is my passion, it’s not always easy. There’s comfort in hearing it from others. And, it doesn’t mean you love them any less, which is what people fear in speaking out. Great post!

  2. I can say as an empty nester, that I totally relate to your post. But once they leave home, you will look back and wish that time had slowed down and you could hold them just a little longer. Great post!

  3. Love, love, love your post! You’re never to young to have a baby, they say. You’re married, why don’t you start having babies, they say. They say and I did. I love every moment of it, but my baby likes to rob me of my sleep! Haha

  4. If i had a dollar for every time someone said to me “if you think 2 is hard wait till you get to 14” Id be rich! UH OH what have i done!!!🙂

  5. Mac

    Your honesty is great. I’m sure you’re a wonderful mom.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Expert | Southern By Design

  7. Pingback: Everyone’s An Expert | Southern By Design

  8. Reblogged this on Southern By Design and commented:

    Pulling another from the archives. A busy few days with the kids off school and Thanksgiving tomorrow. In anticipation for the holiday I have lots to do, plus kids to run here and there. I really don’t want to “adult” today! Here’s a few laughs about parenting, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

