Praise Be To Coffee~The Bean Of My Existence

“To me, the smell of fresh-made coffee is one of the greatest inventions.” -Hugh Jackman

il_570xN.1003490996_fz90

 

I have what many would dub as “OCD” or Obsessive Coffee Disorder. I am also quite the coffee snob and would go as far to consider myself even a coffee connoisseur. I have worked formerly as a barista at Starbucks (surprise, surprise) and it has even been known to be called my second home. I like to think of myself as “Norm”…it’s where everybody knows my name! (If you don’t get the Cheers reference, I’m sorry for you!)

6a00d8341d83e353ef0128778138cf970c-200wi

“You’d have coffee on a drip if you could, wouldn’t you?” 
― Kristina Adams, What Happens in New York

The answer is, “Yes, yes I would!” 

 

 

IMG_3545I enjoy my coffee many different ways. Not just coffee, but espresso is amazing too! I do NOT, however, enjoy the price tag that comes with Starbucks these days! So, I have gotten to the point where I do a lot of brewing at home. I buy the Starbucks espresso, and have an individual espresso maker. I have even got a frother. I make my coffee, iced coffee, tea, iced tea and espresso/lattes from home about 75% of the time. I even have gone as far to buy my syrups from Starbucks, if so desired. (Not everyone knows, but they will sell them to customers, just ask!) I have figured it out and my price tag on this habit has gone way down since making it from home! Honestly, I just CANNOT afford a twice a day habit otherwise!

“It is inhumane, in my opinion, to force people who have a genuine medical need for coffee to wait in line behind people who apparently view it as some kind of recreational activity.” -Dave Barry

13151834_829464563847462_4548214850113530614_nSo, how do I like my perfect cup o’Starbucks? Yes, I am indeed one of those folks that does not order plainly. I like a quad shot, iced Venti, caramel macchiato, with two pumps of vanilla, soy, extra caramel and light ice. Yes, this will not only keep me running for days (or at least a good hour) but it is probably enough calories for days also! So, I do not get this but on a rarity. Now, a normal brew for me looks like a dark Starbucks roast with some cream and touch of sweet (perhaps a flavored cream or a touch of coconut sugar). What about you? 

IMG_4220

“I don’t know how people live without coffee, I really don’t.” -Martha Quinn

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/praise/”>Praise</a&gt;

10 Comments

Filed under Love of...

10 responses to “Praise Be To Coffee~The Bean Of My Existence

  1. Can’t live without it, but I’m not inventive enough to make anything fancy at home. I treat myself to Starbucks a few times a year… That’s as often as I can afford a new mortgage.😛 haha

  2. Wow! That Jesus mug is awesome. Where can I get one?

  3. Sue

    My favourite is a decaf mocha, non-fat, half-sweet, no whip or foam. And, I, too, have an espresso maker with a frother attachment. Love it, but only indulge once a week:-). This post reminds me of one I did a few months ago, if you’re interested.

    https://wordpresscom34070.wordpress.com/category/daily-musing/

  4. High praise for Coffee! I can’t drink it. What you said for coffee I say for tea. Love a good Chia latte.

  5. Pingback: An Ode To Coffee | Southern By Design

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Perplexed | Southern By Design

  7. Pingback: National Coffee Day | Southern By Design

Leave a Reply

