This Color Is Called Life

“Paradoxically though it may seem, it is none the less true that life imitates art far more than art imitates life.” ~Oscar Wilde

I come from a line of wonderful artists on my father’s side. My great-grandmother did oil painting, my grandmother did acrylic painting and color pencil, my father does color pencil, water color and photography, my uncle did color pencil and drawing (had a career in commercial illustration), my aunt does drawings, I do paints, drawing and color pencil and now my daughter is amazing at drawing and cartooning (she wants to go into this for a career). So, needless to say the word Paint brings to mind lots of found ideas and feelings.

art-love-pretty-quotes-quote-Favim.com-613316

“Through a painting we can see the whole world.”~ Hans Hofmann

I have always encourage creativity in my kids. I believe thee imagination that resides within a child is a precious commodity, squandered when it is not cared for properly. The glasses of innocence that a child sees the world and life through, then transposes it onto paper or into clay, can be an amazing image to behold.

art-awesome-quotes-rainbow-Favim.com-486814It saddens me that from a young age kids are required to sit at a desk and spend their days there. They are not given opportunity to strengthen their imaginations but told to hold them back and stay in the lines. Fine Arts are often the first things to be cut back when finances are tight and so, we have kids that will only see life in black and white.

 

“Life is a blank canvas, and you need to throw all the paint on it you can.” ~Danny Kaye

 

I thought I’d share a couple paintings I did a few years back. I definitely don’t give enough time to my art, life certainly gets in the way of taking the time out that I should.  IMG_6228IMG_6214

 

 

18 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

18 responses to “This Color Is Called Life

  1. I love your painting of the trees. You are an artist with heart.

  2. Absolutely beautiful post. I completely agree with you and I have also tried to encourage my kids in art. Their school doesn’t even have art classes. So sad.

  3. It is sad that art classes have to basically be given at home these days, as making and perceiving art is vital to humanity. But fortunately there are so many art programs now, brought to life by people who have art in their heart and also see it as an important part of our society, that there is still a way to have an artistic education. Plus, the art lessons I had at school where all about technique, not about the emotional or even social benefits or even – beware – expressing yourself. So, maybe being educated in art by someone who has a heart for art is the better path afterall.😉

  4. Your paintings are amazing! Good job, I’m jealous of your talent

  5. Sue

    Well, it seems that you and I agree with a lot of what each other says….as once again, you are bang on with children’s imagination. It is scary how little it is fostered these days and I don’t think technology is helping us in that department.

    Beautiful paintings also! You are one talented lady!!

  6. It’s awesome how your family has enjoyed art throughout generations! Your paintings are beautiful!🙂

  7. Pingback: Creativity Reimagined | Southern By Design

  8. Wonderful post and I love your artwork!

  9. You are so talented. You should do more!

Leave a Reply

