Through Lenses

“To photograph: it is to put on the same line of sight the head, the eye and the heart.”~Henri Cartier-Bresson

camera7

It seems poignant that the Daily Prompt: Eyes is our word, seeing as it is World Photo Day. And what is more visual than the perspectives we get through a camera lens? Being part of an artistic family I have always had a great appreciation for the art of photography. My father and one of my sisters both have thee eye to see what many do not. I love to take pictures, but I would not consider myself a photographer in the true sense of the word.

a-camera-is-a-save-button-for-the-minds-eyeI love the ability to capture moments in time. As a mom, of course, I have millions of pictures of my kids! And, I even have scrapbooks that were such fun to make ages ago! Now, everything I have is mostly digital or on Facebook. Does anyone else have a ton of pictures they need to develop? See, I think this is the difference between thee art of photography and snapshots, developing.

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.”~Karl Lagerfeld

Have you ever really thought about why photography is so popular? I mean, we are all connected to our phones as though they are an appendage- snapping pics or selfies like our lives depended on it! We have Snapchat, Instagram and other social media outlets where we are documenting, at times by the moment, our days for others (even strangers) to view in images. The dictionary has expanded with words such as selfie; and we have made those who can take a good selfie into celebrities for that “ability” alone!

beautiful life quotes (11)I can’t imagine a world without the beauty of photographs. How dull it would be to never see people, places and things from all over this world. To be unable to share in diverse images- whether beautiful, unique, sad and all thee emotions that can be reached through a picture. Life is too beautiful not to see, share and imagine through photography! So, get out you cameras (or phones) and keep showing your world through your eyes, the camera.

9498-photography-quote

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Lessons, nature-photography

Leave a Reply

