Compromise Nothing

“If you set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise on anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.” ~Margaret Thatcher

Everyone wants to be liked. It goes back to grade school and follows us into adulthood. We are social beings and so this gives us an inert desire to be accepted. However, as I have grown and matured, I have learned that in an effort to achieve past friendships I cheated myself. I compromised who I am with who others expected me to be. I squelched the flame within myself to maintain friendships that were built on deception. Not their deceit, but mine. I lied to myself about who I was, and in so doing kept myself from flourishing for many years. In the end, well as the saying goes “hind sight is 20/20.” I know I made mistakes and unfortunately they led to sadness and pain. So, the take away, always be true to you. Do not change who you are to please others or have friendships. Relationships built on lies are not worth having! 

The Daily Word Prompt: Cheat

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

