In My Opinion

“There’s an ad for every vice. That’s advice.” ~Brian Spellman, If the mind fits, shrink it

minion1

Similar to my previous post, “Everyone’s An Expert”, you will also find that everyone has advice they wish to impart. I am not opposed to advice, after all, aren’t blogs full of [it]? But, I am cautious when it comes to guidance and from whom I actually listen to. In the past I have taken for granted that everyone actually knows what they are talking about when they give you input. However, in reality it is likely to be more opinion than fact- their personal ‘take’ on a situation is swaying thee imparted advice.

Funniest-Minions-Quotes-On-The-Internet-405Don’t get me wrong, life experiences make us who we are and will impact how we view situations. This may play a positive roll or negative in the given point of view. So, it is our responcibility to make sure we are following sound instruction from a trusted place. And, just because a person is your friend and you have much in common, this doesn’t mean they are a good source for input. Often we choose those most like us for advice, but in reality we need someone that isn’t afraid to be completely honest with us, even if it may be diffucult for us to hear. This is often hard for a friend or loved one if they fear losing your relationship over being honest in their counsel.

 

Finally, it is okay to disreguard advice. After all, we have a heart and brain that are often great sources to follow. Often some of the greatest mistakes in life lead to the most valuable life lesson, results of not listening to someone’s advice.

bd35beb263f7fa7d154e7209733c8631

“I always pass on good advice. It is the only thing to do with it. It is never of any use to oneself.” ~Oscar Wilde

“I am glad that I paid so little attention to good advice; had I abided by it I might have been saved from some of my most valuable mistakes.”~Edna St. Vincent Millay

 

via Daily Prompt: Vice

2 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

2 responses to “In My Opinion

  1. jsant1214

    Love the part that sometimes it’s hard to hear the truth. I have much appreciation for my closest friends because they are able to tell me the truth that few will share with me. They’ll push me to do better and will try to open my eyes to my wrongdoings to help me grow as a person and not take life’s blessings for granted.

Leave a Reply

