Shock and Aarrr!

“I do like to shock and surprise people. When it’s all in good fun, of course.”~Ruth Warrick

I got to thinking about the word for the Daily Prompt: Shiver. Funny enough, the first thing that came to mind was, “Shiver me timbers!” I must say, this made me giggle. But, I did some digging and found out where the saying originated from.

Shiver Me Timbers– An exclamation, of surprise or otherwise. This phrase originated from when the water or a cannon would hit the ship, and the ship would shake. Hence, shivering, and timbers being the actual ship.”

Now, as comical as the pirates are so often depicted when saying [this] in movies, it was really no laughing matter during battle. If the ships were hit with a cannon ball and the wood splintered, it was often the cause of many wounds or even death. In some English dialects the word shiver actually means, “to splinter.” How ironic!

And, of course, being a huge literature fan I must needs mention “Shiver my timbers” was most famously popularized by the archetypal pirate Long John Silver in Robert Louis Stevenson‘s Treasure Island (1883). Silver used the phrase seven times, as well as variations such as “shiver my sides”, “shiver my soul” and “shake up your timbers”. (Source-Wikipedia)

Today, [it] is just a great source of humor. Honestly, there are many other terms thrown around when we are surprised, oh you know the ones. However, maybe the next time you get shocked try saying, “Shiver me timbers!” and see what looks or reactions you get. Anyway, in the spirit of laughing, I leave you with my favorite interpretation of the saying, “Shiver Me Timbers!” in the following…

2011-09-19-Shiver-Me-Timbers

Other Offerings: A Laughing MatterThank You Generation Obvious

 

 

pirate

 

6 Comments

Filed under humor

6 responses to “Shock and Aarrr!

  1. Would have been great if this were the post word for National Talk Like A Pirate day which is coming up. Usually falls in the second to third week of September…

  2. Robin The Boy Wonder in an episode of Batman one said.”Holy Shiver me timbers…”

  3. Pingback: It’s A Pirate’s Life | Southern By Design

  4. Reblogged this on Southern By Design and commented:

    Happy “International Talk Like A Pirate Day!”
    Also see “It’s A Pirate’s Life”
    https://sbdmb.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/its-a-pirates-life/

Leave a Reply

