We Go Together Like…

cake

“Romance novels are birthday cake and life is often peanut butter and jelly. I think everyone should have lots of delicious romance novels lying around for those times when the peanut butter of life gets stuck to the roof of your mouth.”~Janet Evanovich

cinderella-cute-disney-drawings-girl-Favim.com-435179My favorite fairy tale growing up was Cinderella. You’ve got to love a girl who can sing and have animals appear, has a fairy godmother that gives her a makeover and then meets a prince who falls in love with her at first glance. This is the “stuff” little girls (and big girls) dreams are made of! And, while I do believe in love at first sight, as I have experienced it, I also believe in the reality of life! I’m not cynical… honest! I’ve been in an amazing relationship for 21 years, 18 of it married. However, it takes work!

Life and relationships are not all romance and perfection. Seriously, why do we set our kids up to believe this? While I do believe it’s great to have dreams and believe in love, I don’t think reality is anything like Disney portrays! Every girl does not need rescued, by a man that she in turn will love and marry right after meeting. In fact, many women are quite strong and would just as soon be on their own- however, society often looks sideways at this. And then, there are those like myself, married young and enjoying married life (we are strong too). There is nothing wrong with either choice.

hearteyesWhen going into a relationship or marriage however, it is very important to understand that it is not all hearts in the eyes, with romantic music playing in the background. Life is messy, confusing and often just straight out crazy! Put two people together that are different in many ways, better yet- sprinkle in some kids and POOF! That is not your fairy godmother, that is life swinging you around by the seat of your pants, right into a wall. The unexpected will happen, the mundane will happen and yes even beautifully unforgettable moments will happen. But, there will be a mixture that you most likely will not be prepared for, as you begin your journey.

You may be thinking, “Wow, she is not selling relationships very well!” My point is this, you should go in with eyes wide open. My husband and I have had our ups and downs. Blessed with kids (and sometimes cursed) we have learned how to raise together. We have been through trials that brought us closer and we have learned the ebb and flow to eachother. It takes commitment, understanding, willingness to forgive and more. The belief that when you chose to say “I do” and “until death do us part” you meant every word. That failure, giving up and divorce is just not an option! So, here is to success…

pb&j

Relationships are not a “piece of cake”~ it’s okay, because, we go together like peanut butter and jelly anyway!

~Southern By Design

 

 

 

 

Other posts on love & life:The Beach and 18 YearsThe Spirit of Love

via Daily Prompt: Cake

via Daily Prompt: Together

15 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons, Love of...

15 responses to “We Go Together Like…

  1. Morning Southern Design! I recently followed you, while I agree about romance and marriage and thought divorce should never be an option, I changed my tune along the way and believe it may have benefits. Many people do it and are quite happy I’m told.

    • I have multiple friends that have also chose this in life and are very happy. Personally, our belief and outlook when going into marriage was that it was not an option for us. Like all choices, this too is personal to every situation. Thanks for following and taking time to respond🙂

  2. I totally agree with the statement that romance shouldn’t be based on fairy tales. We all need to open up our eyes to reality. Happiness is possible, but it’s not granted.

  3. Amy

    So well said! It’s not a piece of cake, so true.

  4. It’s a good read! I may not be a married woman, but I know how to deal with it, since I am also a single mom.. Thanks for this! And thanks for the follow back. I would love to read more of your posts in the future!

  5. I certainly agree with this post. Marriage has its good and bad moments.

  6. Pingback: We Go Together Like… | Southern By Design

  7. Ash

    I never watched fairy tales growing up. And I think my parents did me a HUGE FAVOUR. Believe it or not, we tend to fall very hard for those stupid fantasies… As much as we don’t want to. If an adult can change his/her mind after watching a movie, how much more influential are movies on children?
    I have watched my friends (who were brought up with fairytale love stories) discover the harsh reality of love. And the site is pitiful…

    BUT AT THE END OF THE DAY, LOVE IS A BEAUTIFUL THING… And like any good thing, it requires a lot of work😀

Leave a Reply

