That’s Just Bananas!

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” ~Hippocrates

bread

Oh my gosh, the subject of food! I love food…seriously! When it comes to bread, well there just is no giving it up. I have tried and actually had really good success with a carb-free diet. I lost 30 pounds, but it was not long-lasting. Let’s face it, the world is just a happier place with bread in it! In fact I am not bias to any form of bread. Give me wheat, white, sour dough, pumpernickle or rye. I am always up for trying something new too!

109219-banana-and-peanut-butter-sandwichOn to the Daily Prompt: Sandwich. I enjoy sandwiches in many ways. Give me a good ol’ grilled cheese or even better add some ham with that. I also like tuna, egg salad or a BLT. BUT my favorite sandwich of ALL time is a toasted peanut butter and banana. Yes, I am an Elvis Presley impersonator, you found me out. Hey, hey! Here are some interesting fun facts about Elvis and his sandwich, along with the recipe. And who would have thought there would be controversy over whether he added bacon or not to his. I keep the bacon off mine!

Elvis Presley and the sandwich

elvis

“The peanut butter and banana sandwich has been referred to as a favorite of Elvis Presley, who was renowned for his food cravings such as the Fool’s Gold Loaf, a loaf of Italian bread filled with a pound of bacon, peanut butter, and grape jelly. Books on Elvis Presley’s favorite foods and culinary tastes, as well as other published reports on his taste for peanut butter and banana sandwiches with or without bacon, have made the sandwich widely associated with Presley. It is often referred to using his name.

Presley’s fondness for peanut butter and banana sandwiches is well established; however, bacon is not mentioned in all accounts. A book about Presley and his mother, Gladys Presley, though, says he had “sandwich after sandwich of his favorite—peanut butter, sliced bananas, and crisp bacon”. Another passage describes him talking “feverishly until dawn” while “wolfing” down the sandwiches (described in this instance as being made with mashed banana).

A news report suggests that, based on renditions of sandwiches named after him, Presley ate his with caramelized bananas and crispy bacon on grilled Hawaiian bread, and grilled by his mother or his cook in bacon fat. The Good, the Bad, and the Yummy describes it as consisting of half a banana and a piece of bacon per sandwich, browning the sandwiches in a frying pan with butter, cutting the sandwiches into wedges, and piling them high.”  Source:Wikipedia

11 Comments

Filed under humor, Love of...

11 responses to “That’s Just Bananas!

  1. Sounds nice, but I don’t think I could cope with the size of them.

  2. That sounds delicious. I like peanut butter and banana sandwiches with some honey on them.

  3. I like your sandwich with chocolate chips .mm m

  4. This post makes me hungry…😄

  5. Toasted peanut butter and banana sounds very interesting and delicious ! Yummy 😃

Leave a Reply

