Pumpkin Spice Perplexed

“Each year, the Great Pumpkin rises out of the pumpkin patch that he thinks is the most sincere. He’s gotta pick this one. He’s got to. I don’t see how a pumpkin patch can be more sincere than this one. You can look around and there’s not a sign of hypocrisy. Nothing but sincerity as far as the eye can see.”~Linus, It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

pumpkin1

As I have mentioned before I am a great fan of coffee and really anything in the family of. I love Starbucks and have even worked as a barista. And, don’t get me wrong, I love some pumpkin spice flavor in my coffee just as much as the next person. In fact, I was quite excited to have tasted my first “Pumpkin Spice Latte” last week at Starbucks.

Okay, so now that I’ve cleared that up…What is with ALL the pumpkin spice flavored EVERYTHING!? Seriously? Have you noticed that September hits and suddenly we are bombarded with this flavor option (at least in The States). What the heck?! Yes, the pumpkin spice latte has cornered the market on this delicious cup o’goodness. But that does not mean I want to taste it in every stinkin’ thing from now until December!

However, if you really love this flavor you can incorporate it in your day from morning to night. And it’s not all just edible either. You have lotions, candles, toothpaste and more. Now, the sanitary napkins might be an exaggeration, but you get my point! While this move to take pumpkin spice to a whole new level has me completely confused, you may be thrilled. So, here is to the individual tastes of every human being! Me, I will just continue to enjoy my latte, coffee and occassional pastery.

What is your take on pumpkin spice? Do you enjoy the flavor option in something particular?

Also See: An Ode To Coffee

Daily Prompt: Perplexed

7 Comments

Filed under humor, Love of...

7 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Perplexed

  1. Love pumpkin spice whether in coffee or cake…Not really into the pumpkin-spice-everything sort of thing though (like pumpkin spice scented maxipads? HAHAHA!). There was a bit of research out awhile back that indicated pumpkin spice as an attractor for men, but I don’t believe it — not everyone likes the scent.

  2. I think smell is simply a very powerful evoker of emotion and memory. Just like gingerbread and pine evoke the the feelings of Christmas, pumpkin spice has the power to conjure up autumnal bliss. (I might just be biased because I love buying a new pumpkin spice candle every fall.) Great piece!

  3. I had to do a double take on the Pumpkin spice maxi pads! LOL!

    I adore pumpkin and in the fall I turn into a pumpkin eating maniac. I love just about everything with pumpkin and love the smell of pumpkin spice. In the fall, you can just bet that there will be pumpkin burning candle or tea light in my house just about every night! I was beginning to think there was nothing I didn’t like with pumpkin but I tried the pumpkin spice flavored Coffee-mate and ugh…. had to throw that cup down the sink! I tried a second time to like it and just couldn’t. You are right…. we do seem to be bombarded with more and more pumpkin flavored everything in the fall.

  4. I love pumpkin spice, but I do think it has gotten to be a little much in the last few years. Fall and Winter are my favorite seasons because of all the holidays, feelings, scents and tastes. I am a sucker for the pumpkin spice coffee mate and I love pumpkin spice muffins, but I have tried some that were just really gross like the pumpkin spice oreos. I am considering trying the new pumpkin spice cheerios that my cousin posted about this morning. Despite all the pumpkin spice craziness though, the only thing that I really want every Fall is pumpkin pie. I love making and baking them and of course eating them.

Leave a Reply

