Sound Or Silence?

“Silence was not the absence of sound but was itself a sound that could be loud or soft, soothing or disturbing, complex or simple.” ~Julius Lester

silence1

I believe that everyone has times when all they would like is to hear nothing. The feeling of pure silence and calm. When even your mind does not run wild with noise from the day, thoughts or even emotion. To be able to just draw in your breathe, refresh your mind and be one with nature…if that’s your thing.

For me, I am just as happy with a cup of coffee and my laptop. Oh, and a few moments when my kids aren’t opening or closing doors, asking me a question, watching the television and no one needs me to do anything for them. Yes, these are a mother’s dreams.

silence

Okay, so I also do enjoy a jaunt to the market by myself. I know it’s not the quietest spot, but I can get lost in the isles, thinking of little else but my grocery list, buggy and sales. Grateful my kids can stay home by themselves now, a well earned respite after years of taking them with me! Pushing the large “car” shaped mammoth of a cart around the store, two tots popping in and out, running around- yes, that mom was me! I try to have patience (a little pity too) on the moms I witness in those situations now. However, honestly, I just find my nerves no longer have the ability to handle the screaming and high pitched noises of little tykes anymore!

Well, here’s to whatever type of silence helps you achieve a recharge of mind and body. Most importantly, is that you make time to when it’s needed. I find I am a better version of me, for not only myself but everyone around me, when I take time out to listen to the sound that speaks to me.

Other posts: Time For What’s ImportantThrivingHow To Stay Passion Driven

 

 

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

11 responses to “Sound Or Silence?

  1. Yep .. You captured it just right…

    Well written.. And so true the way define it

  2. Beautifully written. “Sound that speak to the soul.” Captured beautifully through this writing. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. I am fine with cups of coffee and my lap top too. I wish I could do just that all day but life gets in the way. Haha.

Leave a Reply

