Style Verses Fashion (Nothing To Do With Looks)

 

“Never confuse fashion and style. Fashion relies on unattainable looks on women with unrealistic bodies. Style is about utilizing the best aspects of you.” ~Stacy London

I have always loved fashion. I have been known to get drawn in by channels like E! and TLC, or with shows like “What Not To Wear” and “Next Top Model.” I love design, as I believe it really touches on the artistic parts of me. Perhaps in another life I was supposed to be a clothes designer. But, this is not what I am really about these days. Although I do sell some of my designs on Customized Girl, if you are interested in checking out my store. You can go to “Southern By Design.”

“Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it” ~Yves Saint Laurent

Maybe it is because I have matured or perhaps it is age, but I think that there are other things that are more important than one’s fashion. Don’t get me wrong, I believe in a well dressed and put together woman and what it says- that she cares enough about herself to take the time. But, I also believe that we can get too caught up in things unimportant and forget to focus on who we are. We are all unique and different, and it is individuality that sets us apart from others! “I still appreciate individuality. Style is much more intersting than fashion, really.”~Marc Jacobs

 

quotesExternal beauty and even fashion sense can fade with time. But style is what we project, it is in a way, who we are. It is not something that you can buy at a cheap discount store or the most expensive spot on 5th Avenue. It is the person we create as we endeavor through life.

I’m getting all philosophical, sorry! My point is this- be the best you, you can be. Whether you choose to show who you are through fashion or some other passion, don’t make choices based solely on what is popular. Go with your convictions!

Daily Prompt: Stylish

5 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

5 responses to “Style Verses Fashion (Nothing To Do With Looks)

  1. I definitely agree. Great post ☺️

Leave a Reply

