I Didn’t Know

parent

“You can learn many things from children. How much patience you have, for instance.” ~Franklin P Jones

 

I didn’t know there would be a test! I didn’t realize that all the things I learned from my pre-parenthood days would be worthless. There really are no books that truly prepare you for the life of raising little ragamuffins that grow into mini adults. You can do all you want to prepare, but when the tests come (and they do), you really have none of the answers. And, there is no cheating, no looking to someone else for the right choices! Ultimately, you are either going to pass or fail on your own accord, because everyone’s test in parenthood is different. Not only that, but you don’t know your grade until it is too late to take the test again. Your kids will either be adults that are able to make their way in society or not. There are no “do-overs” in child rearing. Yes, maybe a little mistake here or there will be passed over. But the big ones, those are the make or break moments! So, why do we choose this thing called parenthood?

The pressures are fierce and the outcomes unknown. But, I wouldn’t give it up for the world. The love a parent has for a child, that bond, is like nothing else. We would go through hell (and often do) for this little person we’ve created. They will frustrate us and push us to the edge, but we will still love them unconditionally. I am often baffled and astounded by this journey, yet unlike any other venture in life, it is one that cannot be forsaken. There are days when I may feel like giving up, but I must go on. It is out of pure love and selflessness that parenthood can continue to thrive. Lack of sleep, alone time and energy- yet through it all we continue on. Welcome to parenthood! ©MM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Daily Prompt: Test

15 Comments

Filed under Family, Uncategorized

15 responses to “I Didn’t Know

  1. Pingback: I Didn’t Know — Southern By Design | My little simple thought

  2. So true. Everyone’s test on parenthood is different. We try to teach them all about life but end up learning what life is all about. So true. Lovely post.

  3. NaturallyCrafty

    I have so many fond memories of raising my kids now that I have read this post. I have two “babies” that are both in college. One is a 19yr sophomore and the other is a 21yr old senior. I have been tested a lot, lol! And I am sometimes, but I wouldn’t change any of it for the world. Becoming a parent was the best thing I’ve ever done and they will always be my babies.

  4. Parenting doesn’t come with a manual. Even with each of your kid you have to follow a different style of parenting. But whatever be the challenge, it is one of the most rewarding and fulfilling journey!!

  5. yes, your children are your teachers too:) and they are there too to take the worse in us out 😀

  6. Yes.. it’s one of theses experiences that you have to experience yourself to truly understand exactly how fulfilling and how much joy it creates…

    Welcome to the world 🌎 of motherland.. children 👶… and a eye opener to all that comes with it

  7. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SOME OF US NEVER LEARNED….NO KIDS!

  8. Man it’s been my biggest test of all and I thought I had so much grace and patience before becoming a mom!!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

