Sentimental Morsels

As we enter into October and the fall weather is in full swing, I am reminded of many pass-times that take place in our family this time of year. Some we have started as our own traditions with the kids, others are born from Hubby’s or my own childhood. One of my favorites has been baking with my two munchkins over the years.

I get quite nostalgic and sentimental about my own memories with my mom. As we neared the holidays we would often spend a week baking sweets and treats. Picking and choosing from recipes that we, as kids, liked the most. Some recipes handed down from Gram, to Mom and now to me and my two. Usually including some of Dad’s favorites and those we could send off to a relative or neighbor as a gift.

The holidays also included many times to gather with family over food. Often at my grandparent’s house as a child. And then, as time went on, my family would often venture to our house for a holiday or two. Now that I have moved away from family, this time of year can also be a bit sad for me, as I look back at these family moments that no longer occur. However, with my two now teenagers, I hope that I am planting morsels of tradition and nostalgia within them. Many of which I imagine will have to do with food.

“For it is up to you and me
to take solace
in nostalgia’s arms
and our ability
to create
the everlasting
from fleeting moments.”
― Sanober Khan, A touch, a tear, a tempes

Daily Post Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

1 Comment

Filed under Family, nature-photography

One response to “Sentimental Morsels

  1. Pingback: Nostalgia: Summer | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

