Immune Monday

I must say that it has been a very long week. In fact, hard to believe that it is only Monday! With all the hurricane preparing and then the actual hurricane, well it has just been a very drawn out seven days. On top of all the hurricane hype that has been going on, we have been battling a bug. I on the front line trying to keep it at bay, or perhaps just hiding from it!

sick

Of course, the day that we begin our “lock down” is the day that Daughter comes down with a terrible sore throat- followed up the next day by Hubby. Continued by coughing, fever and runny noses.  I believe the two had contracted the bug at the same time- when they ventured for a Dad and Daughter outing earlier in the week. Son and I have yet to fall prey.

I am quite germophobic. I’m sure many are not surprised reading this, specially if you know how I suffer with a couple mental health issues already. It’s okay, I can laugh at myself now. When the kids were toddlers it was painful, specially as my son had the keen ability to put nearly every foreign object in his mouth. Oh, but those are stories for another time.

So, we were on lock down, I with no Vitamin C in the house, UGH! I was drinking lemon water (like my life depended on it) until I could finally get out to the store yesterday to get something for my immune system. Son and I have begun our immune system boosting with these quite interesting gummy chews. They have 1000 mg of Vitamin C and Calcium to help absorb. I even lucked out, they were buy one, get one free. Now, just to wait and see if Son and I fall victim, as the germs have now had three days to catch up to us, this the cycle they most often follow.

Yesterday was gorgeous, so I aired out the house, opening all windows. In fact, you wouldn’t know a hurricane had come through the day before if it were not for the view of all the downed fencing. I have also been running my DoTerra essential oils “On Guard” in the diffuser. Hubby and daughter are seemingly on the road to recovery. Both are quite red around the nose and talk with a bit of a comical nasally voice. But, both have passed the stage of misery and are up and about today.

After a few nights of Hubby and I sleeping in separate spots, I am hopeful we soon will be back to normal. However, this morning I am feeling the beginnings of a sore throat…I may have fallen victim to this bug yet!

pic

View from out back window of fencing damage.

 

 

Daily Post

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Immune Monday

Leave a Reply

