Wallpaper Giraffe Angel

“Why fit in, when you were born to stand out?” ~Dr Seuss 

I finally did “it”! I finally went and got the tattoo that I have been working on creating for quite a few years. Something most people don’t know, well in the blogger’sphere’ is that I have tattoos. The idea is quite unusual to some, while others have embraced thee idea completely.

I was the first in my very conservative family to have one done. My first, just a couple of years ago, followed a year later by my second. Both, quite small and with meaning. As a woman in my mid 3o’s I am not one to just go about getting them done randomly, for looks alone. I have to have true meaning and much thought behind something that will remain with me for the rest of my life.Think of it as a piece of jewelry or clothing you have to look at forever.

So, this design has been in the works for years. It is representative of my Grandmother or as I alone called her “Gram.” She was my best friend. I lost her about five years ago after a lengthy battle with illness. I lived near to her my entire adulthood and she taught me much about life and lessons in my later years.

Gram was an avid collector of giraffes. At the time of her passing she easily had a few hundred. I still cannot see one without thinking of her, even tearing up at times. She also loved purple. She was adorned in a purple scarf even in death. I often bought her purple flowers, she especially loved carnations. But, in the spring we would also collect violets from her front yard.

So, in honor of my Gram these ideas were stirred. And, together with the tattoo artist we came up with this piece in her honor. I believe she would have loved [it] very much. I was SO pleased with how it turned out. This being my first more complicated and detailed tattoo, I was nervous. However, when I saw it, I couldn’t have been happier!

So, as the tattoo artist described it- Here is my “Wallpapered Giraffe Angel” for my Gram.

fullsizerender-3

©Wallpaper Giraffe Angel by SBDMB (MM)

 

Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Family, nature-photography, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Wallpaper Giraffe Angel

  1. So beautiful 😍 with elegance

  2. Nice🙂 I’ve been designing tattoos for myself since I was a kid but like you I need true meaning for such a thing and as yet nothing I’ve drawn has given me that so they remain on paper or on computer.

  3. Creeps me out. Can you tell I don’t like tattoos. But it is fun all at the same time😀

  4. Love it! I haven’t mustered up the courage to get one yet, but I have my design ready to go!

  5. Great article very informative. Will check back later.

Leave a Reply

