October Transformations

“October, baptize me with leaves! Swaddle me in corduroy and nurse me with split pea soup. October, tuck tiny candy bars in my pockets and carve my smile into a thousand pumpkins. O autumn! O teakettle! O grace!” ~Rainbow Rowell

fullsizerender-3

One of the fun traditions that my daughter still enjoys is transforming pumpkins into Jack O’lanterns. We also are looking forward to transforming ourselves into costumed characters. Although she does not want to trick-or-treat this year, she wants to help hand out candy to all the neighborhood kids that will come through. I just look forward to left over candy or perhaps a few pieces snuck between visitors.

Along Halloween, with these we have some fall favorites. Pumpkin and apple treats are a must. Pumpkin pastries such as muffins, breads and cookies along with apple crisp, pie and cider. However, now that we are South we no longer can go apple picking or leaf peeping, as in the past. When my kids were real little we would rake leaves and they would jump in the piles. I don’t miss the big maple leaf messes though!

What are some of your Halloween and/or Fall traditions?

Daily Post Photo Challenge: transmography

7 Comments

Filed under Family, nature-photography

7 responses to “October Transformations

  1. I don’t have any Halloween traditions, but hand me a piece of pumpkin pie, bars or cookies and I’ll get in the spirit of the season.🙂

  2. I love homemade soup at this time of year! Also apple pie…yum!

  3. Pingback: Transmogrify: Water Lily | What's (in) the picture?

  4. This looks so fun!! Thank you for sharing – it put a smile on my face.🙂
    We definitely used to jump in leaves. And go trick or treating (I’d look in my treats to see how many chocolates I got). Many blessings – good to connect!

Leave a Reply

