Manners Have Left The Building

Going to the movies is a frequent occurrence for hubby and I, a great date we both equally enjoy. The last couple times we have gone however, I just about flipped my lid! Have people utterly lost all sence of movie theater etiquette? Really, where have the manners gone? And no, I’m not talking about those open-mouthed, popcorn crunchers! That is a topic for another day and my Misophonia. 

My first “encounter” was when we sat in front of a woman that talked through thee… entire… two hour, movie! Literally, she was like a comintator during a sports broadcast. Multiple times we “shooshed” her, but to no avail! I’m not sure she even realized she was talking or that it was she we were asking to be quiet. By the time we left I swear my eye was twitching and my anxiety was at maximum capacity.

blah-blah-big-mouth-300x173

Then, this past weekend we visit again. A mom decides to bring her baby, mind you it is an adult movie. Now, I have been there moms, when you really want to see a movie and you believe that your baby will be quiet or even sleep. But this, was not one of those times! She let her kid cry, babble loudly and so forth without getting up and taking him out! Multiple folks were again, “shooshing” and she did not take a hint! What the heck!?

What is wrong with people? Have we become so self-involved that we don’t have any consideration for those around us anymore? It may seem like a silly or simple thing, but it goes to the bigger picture of behavior I’ve encountered in public. Yes, I’m irked, this is a huge pet peeve! I want adults to learn to respect and consider those around them. Not only that, I want them to teach their kids to do the same. I’m so tired of all the little jerks running around who are self-centered and entitled!

Whew… end rant!

volumetric_mouth_2109

 

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Manners Have Left The Building

  1. I can barely go to the movies anymore! I can’t handle it for the reasons you listed! What has happened?! This post made my morning. I’m still laughing🙂

  2. Our society has become I do what I like and if you don’t like it it is your problem.

  3. Rudeness is becoming epidemic! You’re entitled to rant!

  4. This is terribly frustrating! I think it comes down to a bit of selfishness honestly. When you have a child you simply cannot always do the things you want to do plain and simple.

  5. Me too, irked and peeved and that’s why I can’t stand to go anymore. It’s even worse when you are employed in the service fields and have to put up with rudeness and abuse.

  6. I don’t miss going to the cinema🙂

  7. Haha! OH so you’re that guy!😉

  8. xenoviking

    There’s a Cinebarre near me that serves food & alcohol and doesn’t admit anyone under 21. It’s AMAZING!!! It made me fall in love with the cinema all over again. Lol!

  9. I laughed as I read. A blogger left the link to this story on my blog after reading my rant about the cinema scene in faraway Nigeria. His point? It’s universal. Lol! But there are good days interspersed with the annoying.

  10. Manners, what with political correctness, ain’t nobody got time for that. Well, and looks like my generation, Gen x (never liked ’em), didn’t raise their kids. They were all latch key kids texting and driving by 15. Rudeness is an all-time epidemic.

  11. Miami is one of the rudest places in the world. Moved to Greensboro, NC. What a difference. People here are normal, courteous and friendly. People in Miami think sitting in a movie is an interactive experience. I would think they annoy themselves missing so much of the dialogue . Thanks for your recent visit to my blog.

Leave a Reply

