Motherhood~Identity Crisis

Today I’m pulling from my archives to one of my first posts. As the kids are off school this week for the holiday, it elicits thoughts about motherhood. Hope you’ll read in full, and enjoy some humor mixed in with honesty!

cc2

Southern By Design

“One of the greatest tragedies in life is to lose your own sense of self and accept the version of you that is expected by everyone else.”  -K.L. Toth

Even as a young child motherhood was one of my greatest desires. I would gaze into thee eyes of a screaming child and see innocence. Look at little sticky hands with wonder and reach for them. Even changing a diaper was serious business. As the oldest sibling I was baby sitting at a young age. By my teen years I was certain that I would have seven kids…pure madness!

mom-kid-identity-memeI’m not sure that anything really prepares you for parenthood! I know, that sounds so cliché. The sleep deprivation, the feedings, the screaming and oh the bodily fluids! No, those are par for the course. Surely going in most have some inkling of what comes with having a baby, perhaps not ALL of…

View original post 471 more words

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Motherhood~Identity Crisis

  1. I ask myself who I am every day but the answer is never mummy🙂

    TBH I try not to think about some of this stuff too often because I might not like the answer. It’s like asking myself when did I actually grow up and became an adult, if I answer dishonestly and pick an age I am only lying to myself, if I answer truthfully and say I didn’t then I offend myself, it’s a no win situation in my head!!

  2. Reminds me of one of our politicians. She was in the opposition for so long, that after becoming the Chief Minister she would often answer questions by journalists with the line “Don’t ask me, ask the government”.

Leave a Reply

