It’s Beginning To Look

img_4511As the saying goes, “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!” And, over the years we have coined many phrases and customs that encompass this saying.

In our own family we have multiple traditions, from decorating the house and tree, to baking goodies. We enjoy the music and movies that accompany the holiday as well. We go out to see Christmas lights around the neighborhood and enjoy festivities. Meals and family, gifts and giving- so many special times around the season!

We are quite traditional in our likes in Christmas music. Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra are definitely on our play-list. As for movies, my kids have played a roll. Watching “The Grinch” with Jim Carry is our Christmas Eve tradition. But, personally, I enjoy “The Christmas Carol” with George C. Scott. It is laten with memories of watching it every year when I was younger. My dad always aiding in the voices and phrases that we all had memorized from years of viewing. Now Hubby and I do the same with our kids. And, last but certainly NOT least “Elf” with Will Ferrel. This is my ALL time favorite movie! I enjoy laughing most of all, so this is a movie I can watch over and over, and I know every line.

a5c4e6a4-ebb4-4f23-adeb-9b79d5846242Another tradition is baking. It is a favorite that I carry with me from my childhood. My mom was not one to work with us as kids in the kitchen that often. However, during the holidays she would let us help with the cookie baking. We each were allowed to choose one favorite recipe to do ourselves. So, as I had children of my own this was passed down to them. Since they were old enough to walk I would put them on a chair at the counter to help roll out cookie dough. Now at 13 and 15, they can nearly do it all on their own. And they still ask to do it every year! Made from scratch sugar cookies is treat of choice. Decorating has improved over the years and is my favorite part!

 

img_4515Finally, we cannot forget the “Reason for the Season” and why we celebrate. Our Christian faith is very important to us. And it is based on Jesus coming as a baby, living among men, dying and rising again- all for the love of the human race. So, we are sure to spend moments pondering this throughout the month, leading to Christmas. On the morning of Christmas we read the verses from scripture that lay out what transpired that day, before we have our gifts.

“And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call His name Jesus: for He shall save His people from their sins.” Matthew 1: 21

These are what I think of, as Christmas and the holiday season. What about you?

The Daily Post: Photo Challenge

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s Beginning To Look

  1. Pingback: It’s Not This Time of Year Without: Lists | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Really nice tree ! Hope you have some wonderful holidays !

Leave a Reply

