Changing Rolls

img_0887

When life was hard you were there for me
This was your job and you knew how
As I have grown the rolls switched
Often I feel like the parent now

When did things change for us this way?
When did my advice start to matter?
How did I surpass the job of child?
How did you forget my needs?

My heart yearns for carefree moments
When life was much simpler for me
Only concerns were of my future
Naive to all the responsibilities

I’m not sure anything really readies you
The many changing rolls in adulthood
Looking into my own children’s eyes
Wondering how will they prepare

Will I become only an image of former self?
How will I impact the lives of my children?
Will the memories start to fade for me?
This life can just be so complicated©

 

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Life Lessons

3 responses to “Changing Rolls

  1. Beautiful, and such a captivating image.

  2. Pingback: Changing Rolls — Southern By Design

Leave a Reply

