Growing Yourself

“I am my own biggest critic. Before anyone else has criticized me, I have already criticized myself. But for the rest of my life, I am going to be with me and I don’t want to spend my life with someone who is always critical. So I am going to stop being my own critic. It’s high time that I accept all the great things about me.” ~C. JoyBell C.

In my twenties I found it very easy to be drawn into critisism. I would criticize myself, lest anyone else had the chance to do it first. And God forbid if someone did give me a bit of their opinion, I may have fallen to pieces. In other words, I often lacked self-confidence to stand behind my choices. To own my actions and be myself without hesitation.

As I came into my thirties I also feel like I came to have more confidence in myself. Finished with all the drama and fed up with those that were not adding anything positive into my life. I grew by leaps and bounds, figuring out more and more of who I am as a person. Excepting that self-reflection is important and that other’s voices can be drowned out if necessary. And certainly, negative self-talk is unneccessary!

143543_20130926_023031_the-older-i-get-the-less-i_-_copy

This is not to say that there are not positive aspects to scrutiny. But, as I’ve matured I have learned not to take it all to heart. As with many things, you learn to take the good with the bad. You learn who has your well-being in mind and who is looking to bring you down for their own uplifting. Finding people with wisdom and who you respect, these are the ones I listen to, because I know their intensions are pure.

My point, don’t look at critisism as a negative part of life. Instead, learn to use it to improve yourself and also to help you weed out those that are not aiding in your growth as a human being. It’s easy to hear praise, but it does nothing to help you better yourself. Many people will throw empty words at you, but few true friends will be honest with words not meant for anything but your betterment. Take those to heart, use them as fertalizer for your soul and grow.© Mac

cd7ab8ce5402932289354173ed12502a

 

15 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

15 responses to “Growing Yourself

  1. So true. So very true.

  2. The moment we see light and darkness as same not different, the moment we realize tears brings smiles back, the moment we see we are not changed by outer words all seems to be just so beautiful
    So very nicely said my friend. The strength was always within us, just as the land became fertile we started flowering as the most beautiful creation created by the creator.

  3. Wow this is very true! I really enjoy reading your blog! I nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award- Join if you would like to :)Teresa https://teresacreationsblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/mystery-blogger-award/

  4. We are the ones that are toughest towards ourselves. -Bruce

  5. I love that strong woman quote. Great post. 😊

  6. Good advice. Criticism grows us when we least expect it to.

Leave a Reply

