I Do

We gather together for lots of things, but on this day we’ll exchange rings
Many will be surrounding us here, I don’t have cold feet, not even one fear
Patiently I wait to see you walk the isle, beautiful dress and a perfect smile
You look in my eyes and I see them glisten, saying your vows as I do listen
Holding my hand I feel your’s shiver, Darling you still make my heart quiver
Tell you I want you to have and to hold, I’ll love you forever until we are old
As you say “I do” and I place the ring, I’m sure that I heard the angels sing
Nothing’s more perfect then us today, promise we will always feel this way
The way that you look when I steal a glance, reminds me of all the romance
I pull you close, holding you tight, I know we belong and I know this is right
Life is so fleating and time goes so fast, the moments together will not last
Lets make the best of days that we share, never forget how much we care…

Then I awoke from my sleep and looked in your eyes, it felt like a surprise
Your hair it was white, with lines on your face, but I know I’m in my place
Where we belong and time it has flown, together forever and never alone
Our life has been good, sorrows a few, I still recall when we said “I do”…
And I’d do it again©

by Mac

older-couple-west-village-wedding-003

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Love of..., poetry

2 responses to “I Do

  1. may be….years after….down the memory lane….

Leave a Reply

