Vain Glories

broken-mirror-4-1317204

Yearned for distinction but forgot who I am
Changed for others and I repressed myself
Masqueraded as someone I knew I was not
Searched for happiness in the wrong place
Had desired to please everyone and failed

Becoming fractured, my mirror shattered
Shards that no longer will go back together
Reflections in a million pieces looked at me
Helpless I gathered them hoping for solace
Blood ran from hands and yet I felt nothing

There I stood torn and bloodied by choices
No longer could I see the person I’d become
The weight of this all rested on my shoulder
So removing my mask I felt freedom at last
It was then I knew the mirror was my prison

©by Mac

10 Comments

Filed under poetry

10 responses to “Vain Glories

  1. Yes! Beautifully, and painfully, expressed, Mac! 😉 xoM

  2. Wow this beautiful and so powerful. I can relate so much to it too, i am saving on my notepad

  3. A very powerful poem. Beautiful.

  4. beautiful….one can feel and live the lines….quite meaningful too….

  5. Pingback: Why be a rabbit? Be a snake. | Trash of Pi

Leave a Reply

